Go Back   SZONE.US Forums > Current Events > Science

Science

Question about College Majors

Views:2830
Unread 07.05.03, 12:24 AM
FlyingAce

Question about College Majors

This is for people both in college and those who have graduated from it.

I'm interested in majoring in some sort of computer-related field, but I need to ask a question on a few technicalities. What is the difference between computer science, information sciences, computer engineering, and what ever other computer majors I may have left out?

The only clue I have so far is that computer engineering is more on the hardware side of the box, whereas I'd really like to do software.

Thanks for any advice you might have
Unread 07.05.03, 12:28 AM
Archon

I was a criminal justice student......no help here.....
Unread 07.05.03, 04:48 AM
UltraVXAuthor

CS-- artificial intelligence, math, programming theory
CIS-- statistics, database, applications implementation more than programming. human ergonomics and efficiency
CE-- artificial intelligence, math, programming theory, circuit design, microchip design, optics, robotics

All computer related fields have the top six paid, growth opportunities until 2010 according to the bureau of labor statistics http://www.bls.gov.
Programming jobs are the hottest, of course, with support and database services 4th and 6th. According to sources in the industry, my research suggests that CE is highest paid and most desired for employers, because the CEs understand what the software is doing insode the hardware and design better code. It's hard to get into a school for CE for me, there are only 3 schools here that even offer it. However, there are many CS/CIS schools.
Unread 07.05.03, 05:37 AM
Hawkeye