Go Back   SZONE.US Forums > Current Events > News > National Rifle Association

National Rifle Association National Rifle Association, for more than 125 years the NRA has provided generations of Americans with programs focused on safety, education and responsibility.

National Rifle Association

CCW Permit Reform Bill Slated to be Heard in Nevada

Views:732
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average.
  #1  
Unread 02.22.11, 05:21 PM
@NRA-ILA's Avatar
@NRA-ILA @NRA-ILA is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02.09
Posts: 24,807
CCW Permit Reform Bill Slated to be Heard in Nevada

Posted: 02.22.11 08:09 AM

CCW Permit Reform Bill Slated to be Heard in Nevada Tuesday, February 22, 2011
Please contact Assembly committee members today!
The Assembly Judiciary Committee will consider Assembly Bill 143 on Monday, February 28, at 8:00 a.m. in Room 3132 of the Legislative Building in Carson City. Testimony will also be taken via teleconference in Room 4412 of the Grant Sawyer Government Building located at 555 East Washington Avenue in Las Vegas. Introduced by state Assemblyman David Bobzien (D-Reno), AB 143 would streamline the Concealed Carry Weapons (CCW) permit process by allowing an applicant to qualify for a permit for both revolvers and semi-automatic firearms, as well as mandate that the names and addresses of permit holders be held confidential.

Although similar to Senate Bill 126, which was heard in the Senate Judiciary Committee last week, one of the key components of AB 143 includes tightening the Nevada Revised Statutes to ensure CCW permit confidentiality. This issue was exposed in a Nevada Supreme Court decision last year after the Reno Gazette Journal newspaper sued the Washoe County Sheriff’s Department when the Sheriff would not release the names of the county CCW permit holders. According to the Supreme Court decision, permit applications may be held confidential; however, the names of permit holders are public record. NRA joins with the Nevada Sheriffs and Chiefs Association in supporting this vital piece of legislation.

Assemblyman Bobzien has asked that the pro-gun community show their support through testimony and letters in anticipation that a large number of media organizations will be vocal in opposing AB 143. Please take the time to either attend the hearing in Carson City or Las Vegas, and/or contact the members of the Assembly Judiciary Committee. Contact information for this committee can be found below.

Assembly Judiciary Committee
William Horne (D-34), Chairman
(775) 684-8847
whorne@asm.state.nv.us
James Ohrenschall (D-12), Vice Chairman
(775) 684-8819
johrenschall@asm.state.nv.us
Steven Brooks (D-19)
(775) 684-8569
sbrooks@asm.state.nv.us
Richard Carrillo (D-18)
(775) 684-8801
rcarrillo@asm.state.nv.us
Skip Daly (D-31)
(775) 684-8563
rdaly@asm.state.nv.us
Olivia Diaz (D-11)
(775) 684-8553
odiaz@asm.state.nv.us
Marilyn Dondero Loop (D-5)
(775) 684-8833
mdonderoloop@asm.state.nv.us
Jason Frierson (D-8)
(775) 684-8537
jfrierson@asm.state.nv.us
Tick Segerblom (D-9)
(775) 684-8549
tsegerblom@asm.state.nv.us
Scott Hammond (R-13)
(775) 684-8853
shammond@asm.state.nv.us
Ira Hansen (R-32)
(775) 684-8851
ihansen@asm.state.nv.us
Kelly Kite (R-39)
(775) 684-8843
kkite@asm.state.nv.us
Richard McArthur (R-4)
(775) 684-8829
rmcarthur@asm.state.nv.us
Mark Sherwood (R-21)
(775) 684-8839
msherwood@asm.state.nv.us

Copyright 2011, National Rifle Association of America, Institute for Legislative Action.
This may be reproduced. It may not be reproduced for commercial purposes.
11250 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030 800-392-8683
Contact Us | Privacy & Security Policy

Source: http://www.nraila.org/Legislation/Read.aspx?ID=6302
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 20017 SZONE.US All rights reserved
You Rated this Thread: